Thread: Stupid rookie move...

Default Stupid rookie move...

I've been running the rivers around the mat-su valley for about 6 years now in my trusty old 15ft. wooldridge Alaskan with a Yamaha outboard. Before taking it out on the rivers for the first time I pulled it into my garage dis-assembled the bottom end, checked on how to replace my water pump and reassemble everything just in case I needed to on the river...and I did several times.

So this spring I bought a new Wooldridge sportjet..big difference being an inboard. I kept telling myslef that I needed to disasemble everything on the jet unit once so I could see how to in the event I ran into issues on the river...but never did...today I ran into issues.

I looked under and in for the rock but when I couldn't find it I was very uneasy about ripping apart the jet in the water. For all I know there could be a spring in somewhere that drops out when you pull it off and I didn't want to be dropping parts in the river. I idled down river and helped the river push my boat over shallow spots a few times, where I ran into Todd in a Extremem Ultra Shallow by the mouth.

I felt like an idiot but Todd (I forgot his handle) gave me a tow from the mouth to deshka landing and didn't rip me off but just asked for enough to cover his fuel expenses. Thanks very much for your help Todd and I'll shoot you my cell number...if you ever need a tow or somthing all you have to do is give me a call !!

The net net of this experience is...know your boat. I knew better but got cocky...I just wanted to drive it and didn't want to take the time like I did with my old boat to learn how to work on it. If any of you reading this does not know and have the tools to disassemble what they need to so they can fix there stuff...I'd do it before you hit the water again!
    2016 Hewescraft Alaskan 260...