Thread: 1993-2005 johnson or evinrude 40 48 50 lower unit?

Default 1993-2005 johnson or evinrude 40 48 50 lower unit?

does anyone know where i might find a 1993-2005 johnson or evinrude 40 48 or 50 lower unit?

my lower unit on my 96 johnson 50 (J50TLEDS) isn't in too great of shape, quite a bit of metal shavings came out and a little bit of water was in there as well, i also have help available if i choose to look into it myself, so also curious as to how difficult a job some people would consider rebuilding/repairing a lower unit, i am pretty mechanically inclined and have done quite a bit of work on trucks, dozer, snow machines and 3 wheelers over the years, swapped couple transmissions, rebuilt some motors, stuff like that just to give u an idea, i have zero experience working on lower units, but my dad said he's done a few and my cousin said he's done a few as well, but if anybody might have a line on a lower unit like maybe a salvage yard to call or someone who may have swapped one for a jet or lost a powerhead on, i've been told all the 93-2005 johnnyrudes in 40,48 and 50 are interchangeable so that's kinda nice to know, outboardexchange.com says they got em for 560 used or 1050 remanufactured so that is another option but have seen several other lower units even some new on craigslist for 50-300 bucks (just not lucky enough to run into the one i need right now) so i figured i might poke around and see what kinda stuff might be around local b4 i buy used or do any work on this one.... thanks in advance for any information u might have or even just a little insight if you've been in the same spot b4

frank...