Thread: Bivy Bag?

Default Bivy Bag?

I was wondering how many guys use bivy bags and which ones have you used that didn't have condensation? I've been contemplating a bivy vs small, light 1 person tent.

Here is the most recent discussion down in the gear forum:

http://forums.outdoorsdirectory.com/...eep-spike-camp

I have been using one of the military gortex bivys for going on 5 years now. I have spent many dry nights in pouring rain without even a tarp.
    "I'd rather be fishing!"

military 3 piece sleep system is all i use. One piece is a lightweight sleeping bag, one is a heavyweight and one is the bivy cover. Slide a sleep mat between which ever bag you use and the bivy and you'll sleep good all night. On really cold nights use all three. I usually don't sleep in a tent, just out under the stars and never had a problem.
    "...arms like laws discourage and keep the invader and plunderer in awe...Horrid mischief would ensue were the good deprived of the use of them." -Thomas Paine

I havent yet broken down and gotten a bivy sack but have been oh so close. I enjoy sheep hunting and setting up a base camp and hiking with a bivy seems to hold merit. My father and I hiked up top and spent a night with out a tent or sleeping bags, woke up with drag up dust on the ground, id never gotten so close to another man in my life. Since than I have always used a small one man tent but a bivy appeals. Integrel Designs makes a sweet one as do others.

A body bag and light wool blanket work great
    Now left only to be a turd in the forrest and the circle will be complete.Use me as I have used you

Black Diamond makes one that I trust. It's just a shell that I pack. Super light weight, goes up the mountain with me all the time. Waterproof, windproof, and is grey like a rock. perfect. Durability - my bro used the heck out of it, then gave it to me as he gets new stuff way more frequently than me - I predict many, many seasons with it yet. Good luck.