Thread: Inflatable Boat/Motor/trailer Combo-what's it worth?

Default Inflatable Boat/Motor/trailer Combo-what's it worth?

Hey everyone...first post here! I'm thinking about buying an inflatable boat/motor/trailer from a friend. It is an '02 AK series 16.5' with aluminum floor. The raft is in good shape with a patch or two. The motor is an '08 mercury 40 HP and two years left on the warranty... Also has a flatbed trailer that it is sitting on--nothing special. So, I'm pretty new to these types of boats and don't know what they should be worth. What do you think would be a fair price?

I'll take a stab.........others will surely chime in. Boat: $12,000 new, an '02 is probably still a good $7000. An '08 40HP Merc is an easy $2500. Trailer, probably about $500. Offer him $8K - $10K and you'd probably be doing alright. I was in the market for this setup but its been awhile. Ended up going with a cataraft instead. Good luck!

That looks about right to me....

The suggested boat price is high depending on the model and my price sheet that I got at this years boat show. The AK Series sell new for approx 50% of the price listed on their website. IMO a 10 year old inflatable with patches is worth less than half of new price, to me anyway. I assume the motor is a 4 stroke?

Anyway, I'd agree with the above pricing except the boat, which I'd value at about $3k sight unseen.

If the motor is a 2 stroke, might be worth $5,500 or so for the entire rig. 4 stroke, maybe up to $6K.
    Opinions vary widely on this, the only opinions that matter are yours and the seller.
    Tennessee

Aug & Sep boat prices tumble a spring boat will sell for a lot more than a fall boat. Bought and and sold a lot of
    boats in the last 20 years and if I did not sell them in Aug or Sep I was better off holding them till next spring.