Thread: Kenai

Default Kenai

I will be staying at the lower kenai aug 22 - sept 2. I have a choice of 5 trips ocean (anchor point) or river. I am leaning toward ocean (all day, with emphesis on gore point). If i do the lower kenai river (guide is to limit of 2 - then done). So i thought i go do the rivers on my own where the action is - silvers is probably it.

What size single hook do you recommend for spinners and for loop knoting eggs, sardines or shrimp. I am a 101 airborn vietnam vet, this just may be it for me guys so i am going all out in every way. Considering a flyout for silvers.

All i want to do is catch fish - silvers preferably . Cut up and have fun with the boys at the vfw and gwin's. I have a history of going to the long hard limits to find solitude and fish. I am a well traveled hunter, but never a big time fishing trip. The bears give me a bit of concern as i will be on my own.

Any and all your input would be appreciated. I want to get this trip right to the smallest rigging and location detail.

Quote Originally Posted by justfun View Post
    I will be staying at the lower kenai aug 22 - sept 2. I have a choice of 5 trips ocean (anchor point) or river. I am leaning toward ocean (all day, with emphesis on gore point). If i do the lower kenai river (guide is to limit of 2 - then done). So i thought i go do the rivers on my own where the action is - silvers is probably it.

What size single hook do you recommend for spinners and for loop knoting eggs, sardines or shrimp. I am a 101 airborn vietnam vet, this just may be it for me guys so i am going all out in every way. Considering a flyout for silvers.

All i want to do is catch fish - silvers preferably . Cut up and have fun with the boys at the vfw and gwin's. I have a history of going to the long hard limits to find solitude and fish. I am a well traveled hunter, but never a big time fishing trip. The bears give me a bit of concern as i will be on my own.