Thread: Shrimp pot bait

Default Shrimp pot bait

I am new to shrimping. I did ok this past few shrimping outings but there has to be better bait options. I used the standard shrimp candy but the sea lice tear through it so fast. That stuff is expensive. There has to be a better way than throwing $20 bills in each pot. I need ideas on bait. Cat food?

Maybe smaller holes or slits in your bait container would allow the essence of the bait to escape and attract shrimp but allow entrance to fewer sea lice. On the other hand, I've observed that some pots with lice ridden bait jars seemed to have more shrimp...the lice can't eat every particle and by breaking the bait down they may help disperse the bait/scent stream more effectively. Just a thought.

When my wife & I went shrimping last month in Whittier the boat used a mix of pellets and canned catfood in each pot. This was our first time so I am not sure if that is the norm.

I agree with smaller holes to keep the sand fleas out. Your bait (pellets) should last quite a while.

Quote Originally Posted by skydiver View Post
    I agree with smaller holes to keep the sand fleas out. Your bait (pellets) should last quite a while.
    http://www.donalsoncompany.net/

They have bait jars with small slits in them. The only place I know in Anchorage. I talked to a guy who used these bait jars and did not have sand fleas. only a few bucks per jar and should be worth the cost. Also, where are you buying your bait? Sportsmans is twice as much as other places. shop around.

I don't ever remember getting the amount of sea lice like this year. I was playing with a couple ideas, some jar with way smaller holes, I did take a plastic jar and only cut it a few times up & down with a razor and still had lice inside. ?
    Toyed with a couple ideas using fine mesh SS screen or ?? Heck maybe they would make a great sea lice gumbo?