Thread: Fireforming

Default Fireforming

I am new to reloading, and was wondering what the best and safest process for fireforming brass is? Any help would be appreciated.

Depends somewhat on the parent case.
    Belted magnums are easy. I've found that a small charge of bullseye or winchester 231 (10-17 grains) fill the remainder of the case to the shoulder with cream of wheat, pack the neck with Kleenex or tissue point downrange and fire.
    With non belted cases if necking down neck down just enough to create a shoulder for the round to headspace on. This will create a shoulder on the case. Don't neck down any more than is necessary to allow the round to chamber thereby creating proper headspace then fireform as above.
    If your necking up you may have to neck the case to a larger diameter then back down to the caliber you want so you can create a shoulder for headspace.

Here is a method I have used about a thousand times and it works very well.

You'll need some corn meal, cream-o-wheat, purina, malt-o-meal or something of the sort. I have also used dry corn cob brass polishing media (without any additive)

You'll also need some toilet paper, plain white unscented.

You will need some fast burning pistol powder; Bullseye, WW-231, or something of similar burning rate, I prefer the flake type of powder.

You'll need some soft warm parafin wax.

You'll also need one closable card board box approximately 24" square.

Mix all ingredients in the box and stir continuously for 10 minutes.....JUST KIDDING!