Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Do cup and core bullets not kill any more?

Default Do cup and core bullets not kill any more?

I read all the hype about the new bullets being the only way to go. Even the Nosler Partitions are considered impotent by some. Is any one actually having problems killing game with cup and core bullets? I shot my first deer with a Rem core lokt from a 30Rem. One shot ,one dead deer. I have been using cup and core bullets since then (1962) and have never had a decent hit fail to kill what I shot in short order. Now granted I'm not talking hunting dangerous game in Africa, but is anyone having cup and cores fail to kill game? I haven't hunted brown bear but I believe a 400gr Hornady RN from my 416Rem would do one in from any angle. Can someone explain why I need the latest most expensive bullet there is?

I don't see that there is a need but a want. I think most of it is in advertising, the company is trying to sell you what they think is the best thing on the market. Obviously there have been a lot of advancements since 1962. People want the latest and greatest and a lot of these bullets are are more accurate than what they used to be.
    "...arms like laws discourage and keep the invader and plunderer in awe...Horrid mischief would ensue were the good deprived of the use of them." -Thomas Paine