Thread: Novice looking for second lens

Default Novice looking for second lens

I've just brought a Canon Rebel XTI 400D and I'm still learning how to use it. But I'm alreadly looking at buying my next lens and would like advice from the forum as to which one. The Rebel XTI came with a EF-S 18-55 lens, I'm looking for a quility all around lens for landscapes, wildlife etc.and want to stay withinn the Canon family. I'm leaning towards the Canon EF 24-105 F/4 L IS USM or the EF 70-200 F/4 L IS USM....Thanks in advance for any help and sugestions you can provide.

Default What do you like to shoot?

If your into wildlife at all I would opt for the 70-200 next for the range it offers. It will give you double focal length of the 24-105. As you get more and more into it I would also look at replacing that kit lens with something a little higher quality. It should suit you for a while, but there are alot nicer lenses out there of much higher quality. Be careful though, its very addicting and I had trouble living within my budget when I was first starting out.
    US Air Force - retired and Wildlife photographer

To follow my photography adventures check out my facebook page

And by the way, congrats on your purchase. You will have alot of fun with that camera!
    US Air Force - retired and Wildlife photographer

To follow my photography adventures check out my facebook page

Living @ the Top of the World in Barrow Alaska

Exclamation Lenses.. .. so many to choose from

So many different combinations, focal lengths, and a lot of reading and learning to figure out what is best for your situation or needs.

My needs only ever requred one lens!

One lens at a time is all that can be used on any camera. (joking)

The main thing is, what do you need a second lens for ? what is the MAIN purpose for this second lens? Usually it is used to expand the field of view (wide) or narrow the field of view (tele -zoom).