Thread: IMR 4007 SSC powder

Default IMR 4007 SSC powder

Anyone know much about this new powder? I am new to reloading and reading as much as I can and am learning about powder. The IMR load data looks pretty good for my 325 with 220's.

Default IMR 4007ssc..

Perry,

Super short cut, even. No I don't know anything about it except I also found it on the Hodgdon's site for the 325. I have a new Hornady #7 manual and I didn't find it in there either. It does seem to be a good propellant for the 325. I think it takes years for new powders to arrive in Alaska.

About the burn rate of 4350 I think from the way and in the quantity it was used. It looked good though. I used H4350 and RL-19 mostly for the kimbers I loaded for. I'm doing work up now for the 338 WSM and would like to try 4007 for it. Let us know if you find some.
    Is there nothing so sacred on this earth that you aren't willing to kill or die for?

What brand and diameter is the 220gn? I can run the numbers in quickload. And

Quote Originally Posted by TYBSP View Post
    What brand and diameter is the 220gn? I can run the numbers in quickload. And
    I'm going to try some Sierra Gamekings. 220g, .323 (8mm). Sierra says they were designed for velocities of the 8mm mag so they have a thicker jacket than lighter Gamekings. If I can load them up to around 2700 fps mv with any kind of accuracy it seems like it would be a good round. The IMR load data says they got max 2778 with the 4007 powder and the pressure was around 54000 I think. Anyway, this will be my starting point and first rounds I load for the 325wsm. Might have to use different powder though like Murphy mentioned. Eventually I'll probably load some Swift A-Frames for my 220 loads. Seems like that would be the HD Moose and Bear round.

That might be a good powder for the 350 Rem Mag as well. (the case looks almost exactly the same as a 325WSM with a belt )
    But I have never seen it in a store yet...

http://www.chuckhawks.com/imr4007ssc.htm