Thread: Getting started.

Default Getting started.

I've been very interested in hunting for a while, but I've never had the opportunity to really go for it. I'm wondering what recommendations you would have for someone who is a complete beginner to really all aspects of hunting. I would ideally like to go out with someone more experienced to make sure that I don't injury myself or a bunch of animals without putting them down. I'm interested in being very hands on with everything, including the cleaning and preserving the kill, and I would like to be very thorough in using all parts of the animal. I'm living in Anchorage right now, so anyone near there that would be willing to give me some guidance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for your time!

I highly suggest taking a hunter education course. Visit this website and check out what the state has to offer. It's a very informational course and it's a really fun class...it'll start you out in the right direction. I do suggest signing up as soon as possible, as classes can fill up pretty fast. Good luck! http://www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm?adfg=huntered.main

Go to Wally World, grab a copy of the hunting regs and study them for a year ! Then you'll understand the complexity of hunting in AK. Then try to find a partner to hunt your desired species.
    Also be sure before you hit the woods you check and make sure the area you intend to hunt hasn't been closed to hunting, this happens often during moose and caribou seasons.
    " Americans will never need the 2nd Amendment, until the government tries to take it away."

On the road of life..... Pot holes keep things interesting !

Have you been in Alaska for a year or more? Are you planning to hunt here or in TN?

I recommend two books, Hunting in Alaska by Chris Batin, and another one called "Dress 'em out", I don't know the author.