Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help choosing a 22 magnum handgun

Default Help choosing a 22 magnum handgun

I'm trying to find a 22 magnum pistol to supplement my rifle that's avail. new. I've seen some new chrony results from 22 magnum pistols that proves they get much more velocity than people claim. The North American Arms pocket pistols are out of the question (too small). The only other option was a classic Smith and Wesson with a 6" barrel, a Smith Wesson shorty and the prices are too much for a darned rimfire pistol.

I noticed Taurus makes a 9 shot single/double action 22 magnum revolver with a 4" barrel which is pretty enticing and a good price. I have no experience with this pistol but a 9 shot double action rimfire revolver for around $400 is a definite possiblity. It's kind of heavy for a rimfire though at 38 oz. That's almost as heavy as my old full stainless Sig Saur 45. They do have a compact single action/double action compact the is an eight shot with a more appropriate weight of 18.5 oz. with adjustable sights. That might be a possibility too.

The other option is that new Kel-Tec pistol that has an equally acceptable price tag around $400 msrp and holds some 30 rounds in magazine. I'm really veering towards the Taurus revolver but a 30 round 22 magnum pistol is somewhat interesting as this pistol won't be for hunting but stay in a vehicle or a night stand most of the time.

Here's the three I'm interested in but can't decide:

http://www.gunblast.com/KelTec-PMR30-2.htm

http://www.taurususa.com/product-details.cfm?id=625&category=Revolver&toggle=&bread crumbseries=

http://www.taurususa.com/product-det...adcrumbseries=