Thread: Who gets first shot ?

Default Who gets first shot ?

My buddy and I have been hunting together for 35 years. We have never been on a guided hunt befor. The first person to spot the game has the choise ,shot or pass. This has worked good and we have both watched each other shoot many animals. But on a guided hunt how should the order go,how do you decide who gets the first chance? I'm know we could just flip a coin but was wandering if there was any other way.

He who spots it or choose before you ever leave the house who gets first crack at the animal. Just becasue there is a guide involved it shouldn't change what your buddy has done for years, your the boss, not the guide when it comes to who shoots. The guide is the boss on everything else

Are you hunting for a species that one of you has shot in the past and the other hasn't? That's one way to figure it out. Might be worth a discussion about what each of you is looking for in an animal. Is one of you willing to shoot the first legal animal while the other is looking for a world class trophy? Whatever it is, decide before the hunt.
    I'd agree with you, but then we'd both be wrong.

Just decide first. Flip a coin, however you want, but decide first. Friends are happy for the other's success, hopefully that'll be the case this time too with both successful!
    Know guns. Know peace. Know safety.

No guns: no peace. No safety!

Quote Originally Posted by headhunter353 View Post
    We have never been on a guided hunt befor. The first person to spot the game has the choise ,shot or pass.
    Why change now?

Hunt as you normally hunt, I agree there is no reason to change your system now.