Thread: How to tie the net to the boat

Default How to tie the net to the boat

I am new to dip netting from a boat. I have viewed several videos on you tube but do not show clearly how to tie the net to the boat. Can anyone explain the best method and possibly have pics?

Default Method A

Quote Originally Posted by Jamason View Post
    Can anyone explain the best method...
    With fishing, the subject of best method is open to debate. Here, however is how we do it:

1. Tie one end of the rope to the net hoop.
    2. Twirl the pole handle a sufficient number of times to give yourself some adjustment room in the rope length.
    3. Tie the other end of the rope to an appropriate location on the bow. Some people mount a bar or board across the beam of the boat that extends off the side of the boat a few feet and tie off to it.
    4. When you put your net in the water, see how much work you have to do to hold it. Twirl or untwirl the pole to allow the rope to carry the load with your pole out 90 degrees from line of travel.
    5. Fire when ready.

If your boat driver is also dipping, beware that it is real easy to catch your prop in the net if you're not careful.

~tr

If you go with a rope, I like the twirling feature of gr8fl's method above. Sometimes you may want to adjust your depth or distance, and that seems like a great way to do it.

A couple years ago, we went to a cable system with carabiners. We use those thin coated cables that you use for making dog runs outside, not sure what that's called. Each cable has a thimble and the little u-bolt connectors on each end to create a loop for the carabiners.