Thread: 280 AI RL22 loud report

Default 280 AI RL22 loud report

I have never used RL 22 before and decided to try some in my 280 AI. It seems to make a lot more noise then some of the other powders that I have tried. I'm getting good groups and very little pressure signs. Is this common with this powder?

I haven't used it but it is a slow powder so it's probably still burning as the bullet leaves the barrel.

I've burned a lot of RL-22 in my .280AI's, and I don't remember noticing a difference in the sound level. I did get great accuracy and some of the highest velocities, though.

Quote Originally Posted by Dan in Alaska View Post
    I've burned a lot of RL-22 in my .280AI's, and I don't remember noticing a difference in the sound level. I did get great accuracy and some of the highest velocities, though.
    I gotta agree with Dan in Alaska. I consider RL22 my staple powder as it provides fuel for probably 50% of my reloading needs. I can't recall any increased noise level while using it.
    Foolishness is a moral category, not an intellectual one.

SwampView AK, Overlooking Mt. Mckinley and Points Beyond.

Quote Originally Posted by swapdonkey View Post
    I have never used RL 22 before and decided to try some in my 280 AI. It seems to make a lot more noise then some of the other powders that I have tried. I'm getting good groups and very little pressure signs. Is this common with this powder?
    I dunno, but sometimes a HOT load SEEMS to be louder. 280 AI data is pretty HOT, isn't it?

By that I mean that case capacity wise, one shouldn't get the velocities you see in the data.

I have a 280, but no experience with the AI version.

What do you mean by "very little pressure signs"?

Smitty of the North
    Walk Slow, and Drink a Lotta Water.
    Has it ever occurred to you, that Nothing ever occurs to God? Adrien Rodgers.
    You can't out-give God.