Thread: Kayak Advice for Beginner

Default Kayak Advice for Beginner

Hey All. Looking for advice on a kayak trip.

My girlfriend and I are going to Halibut Cove for a few days and I want to rent some kayaks. I don't want to have a guide and I don't have time to take any training. It seems like most of the places that rent kayaks want you to have experience. I grew up canoeing... a lot, and I have been in a kayak a couple of times on lakes. We are fairly young and I have extensive outdoor experience, including being very comfortable on the water and a good swimmer. I don't think I need any training, as it seems like common sense, but what do you guys think? Can I read up on it and do my own little training session before we set out? I learn most everything by trial and error, but since my girlfriend will be with that may not be the best way.

In my mind we get in the thing and paddle around and keep from tipping it. What's so hard about that? I guess the dangerous part would be if we did tip, how do we get back in it so we can get to shore and dry out. By the way, I will rent a tandem.

Also, any advice on who to rent from in Homer or nearby.

Thanks.

I think you are seriously underestimating the hazards there my friend.

keeping a kayak from tipping in a lake... not so difficult. Keeping it from tipping in calm conditions on a sheltered bay... Also not so difficult. Keeping from tipping if the wind picks up at all? Yea... thats a good way to get dead real fast.

If you've never kayaked at a minimum I'd find someone to demonstrate and let you practice self rescue. Getting in and out of a Kayak may not be much of a challenge but until you've tried it when hanging upside down with your legs stuck in freezing cold water and low visiblity? make sure you and your girlfreind know how you would react to the situation as it can be fairly disorienting.