Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: SPOT messenger, who is using one?

Default SPOT messenger, who is using one?

I have been trying to activate mine all day. They took my money but so far nothing else has happened. I sent a question to them, but it will take a few days to get a reply.

For those of you who have used them, did the registration and activation go smoothly, or are there hick-ups to be expected???
    Floatplane,Tailwheel and Firearms Instructor- Dragonfly Aero
    Experimental Hand-Loader, NRA Life Member
    http://site.dragonflyaero.com

I've been using a SPOT for several years now (1st gen model). As I remember it, the activation was instantaneous. Every year when I renew the subscription, my account updates instantly as well. Never heard of anyone having problems before.

What exactly is the problem? I assume you created a new account, and then registered the serial number of the SPOT to your account, right? Does the SPOT show in your account's device list? If so, have you set up the notifications for it yet? If you don't have the messages set up to go anywhere, it could appear that nothing is happening, but only because you've not told it what to do when you send a message.
    Winter is Coming...

Go GeocacheAlaska!

I've had my SPOT for a couple of years and the registration and activation went smoothly, also the annual updates, too. Like JOAT says, you have to create the account and set up the notifications.

Yeap, I set up the account and it shows the device.
    And I filled in several e-mail notifications for the messages and a bunch more for the path following deal. That is when nothing happened. It never sent the e-mail to folks giving them the link and it does not send anything to the email list when I do the I'm OK function...
    and yes i wait until both green lights are flashing together.
    There must be a step I missed doing...