Thread: Great Shrimping - until . . .

Default Great Shrimping - until . . .

Brought up two pots of 40+ each spots. Here is what the third pot looked like:

Mmmmm Octopus fritters.

I caught one about that size last summer. I fought it into a cooler and took it back to camp. When we got to the beach my boys came running down to see how much shrimp we got. I set the cooler down on the beach and told them to pop the heads off everything in it! About that time it started fighting for its freedom again and scared the BEJEBUS out of them!
    Your in for a treat, check out some of the threads on here for recipes and cooking tips.
    Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day,
    Teach a man to fish and he'll also learn to drink, lie, and avoid the honey do list.

That's a nice one. Bad for shrimping though.

Heck I would take one of those if my first two pots had 40 shrimp in them.... best I have done so far is far less than 40 total in 4 pots. I am still learning but I would like to have one decent set this year.
    2007 Kingfisher 2825 - Stor Fisk

Civilization ends at the waterline. Beyond that, we all enter the food chain, and not always right at the top. -- Hunter S. Thompson

That's not a bad tradeoff for 40 shrimp. It's when you get the little ones in the pot and they've cleaned you out you get bummed.

No need to battle them, knife between the eyes calms them right down!
    Those that are successful in Alaska are those who are flexible, and allow the reality of life in Alaska to shape their dreams, vs. trying to force their dreams on the reality of Alaska.

If you have a tenuous grasp of reality, Alaska is not for you.

The diversity and the bounty of the ocean continues to impress. Makes me not miss Nebraska or North Dakota so much.
    Go Big Red!

probably a four or five thousand shrimp equivalent haul right there.

Quote Originally Posted by Paul H View Post
    No need to battle them, knife between the eyes calms them right down!