Thread: Teaming up from ship creek to susitna river

Default Teaming up from ship creek to susitna river

Looking for someone that wants to team up. Put in on ship creek boat launch,head up susitna river for fishing. I have never done this before and thought the safest way would be to travel as a pair.

That would be a very wise thing to do, but frankly, I don't know that you'll get much fishing in. You would be better served to head to Deshka landing or Susitna boat launch for fishing opportunities.

If you do still decide to go, just make sure you plan around the tide and make sure you bring provisions to stay the night... or two if needed.
    Tony

Be extremely careful, our Coast Guard has plenty to do already.
    As Tz mentioned, run in/out of the mouth on a high tide or you might be there till the next tide comes in. Lots of braids and bars as she enters the ocean. Can also get ugly out there real quick and no place to hide.
    Deshka launch would be a much wiser choice....
    BK

We did this trip once and got pounded coming back across the inlet. The drive to Deska is much more comfortable and you end up being within shorter distance to start fishing. Ditto on hitting the tides correctly and if you do it, consider staying the night and heading back the next morning, the winds tend to kick up in the afternoon in the inlet.

. Do you know if it would be possible to go from the inlet and boat all the way up to little su boat dock and campground. And dont the salmon start running up from the inlet.Thanks so much for your knowledge. I owe you one.