Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What's really the best ATV 4X4 for Alaska?

Default What's really the best ATV 4X4 for Alaska?

I have some long waited money coming in next month and of course pricing ATV 4x4's. Me like a dumb ars sold my Arctic Cat 2000, 500 a little over a year ago, cuz I was broke and needed the money badly. Now things are coming back into play for me now again. My son wants me to get a Honda (But I hate those puny axles on em sticking out the differential) but I'm leaning toward another Cat maybe. I know hondas run forever, but what good are they with bent axles is my idea. Sorry, I was an auto mechanic for almost 30 years and the honda axle system just doesn't add up for me for strength.
    What I would like to get here is the pros and cons of all 2005 and newer machines and maybe some info on the Can Am 4x4's also. Overall width is critical if you hunt the Ferry area and need to get a wheeler across the bridge. 45" will rub going across and 46" will start tearing your fenders off if you don't drill holes in your fenders and wire em into the frame before you cross the narrow bridge. I've been seeing tons of machines for sale that are 3-4-5-6-7 years old and they want way too much money for the used crap. My son just bought a brand new Honda 420 last year for $6100 with the 4 year extended warrany from the dealer. How in the crap can people try to sell stuff on Craigs List that is 5 to 6 years older and want $4500 to $5900 for basically the same crap, with no 4 year extended warranty.
    I got off track, I really could use some good input on what you folks think about the different brands of machines except maybe Polaris anything and Argo type crap...
    I can do the impossible right away. Be patient, miracles take me a bit longer.

Right up yer alley: Grizz 700 with EPS and EFI.
    Big improvement over the Yammie 660 and I think top of the line. You can find'm used on CL; I did. Mine had 150 miles on it.