Thread: When does it become harassment?

Default When does it become harassment?

When does it become harassment?
    Here is the deal:
    I had been eyeing this drainage for a couple of years. I usually do my bait station location scouting in the fall, betting on streams with good salmon runs, grass flats, skunk cabbage and fiddlehead ferns. This particular drainage is a place where I have spotted bears on the hill side in both spring and fall.

I placed a station here on April 15th last year, put my signs out and had another hunter place a half-drum station about 20 yards away and in clear sight of my station. I had also noticed another station in the fall that had a stand (still in place) and I placed a sign at the trail head of their location to notify them (if they were still using the location) that I was in the area. This group placed their bait and hunted and I did not hear a peep from them or have a word of conflict with them.

Fast-Forward to this year. Since the close proximity to shore and my signs seemed to attract too much attention, I moved my station further up the drainage and did not post any signs on the shore-line.

The 2nd trip in to add bait to my station, I come out from baiting and here is this boat circling my boat with a irate hunter yelling at me about hunting off of his station and about not honoring his signs that have been placed sometime between when I 1st setup my station and when I returned to add bait. The guy did not even try to have a decent discussion to see if we may have an opportunity to work something out and I tried to explain to the guy that his signs were not there when I placed the station and that I was up the drainage from him, but he did not want to discuss it. He never would tell me when he placed his signs or put in his station.